House of Antiquities


About the Site

Constructed towards the end of the Ottoman era, this building is believed to have been built between 1905 AD and 1910 AD. According to local accounts, it served as a government hub for the Turkish rule in the region. Following the establishment of the Emirate of Transjordan, it was repurposed as a security center. Later, with the founding of the Department of Public Antiquities, the building became its headquarters. After the Department relocated to Amman, it once again served as a security center before eventually reverting back to the Department of Antiquities/Jerash Antiquities Office, where it remained for many decades.



Discover the ultimate sightseeing package!

Get a Jordan Pass